The Campaign for San Francisco Mayor: Anyone But Ed Lee #ABEL

October 24, 2011 § 14 Comments

Over the past few months many neighborhoods in San Francisco have hosted forums for candidates in competition for the office of mayor. After attending my first forum at the Castro Theater on August 8, I was hooked.

That was a rowdy night.

Interim Mayor Ed Lee had just announced his intention to run for office two days prior to the Castro forum. Consequently that was his first public appearance as a candidate and the audience heckled him mercilessly. It was thrilling.

Green Party candidate Terry Joan Baum staged a sit-in in my heart that night when she demanded inclusion at the crowded debate. Baum announced that the only way she would leave the stage was by being arrested. Eventually she was accommodated and has been an active participant throughout the campaign.

During closing remarks that night Supervisor John Avalos read aloud one of the Tweets I sent and I haven’t been able to lose my erection ever since. Every now and then I pass out because of the priapism but witnessing his evolution as a candidate has been worth every unconscious moment.

The closing remarks from that night are available in two clips: Part I and Part II. Most of the rhetoric from the Castro forum persisted through the campaign.

Since the glory days in August the campaign has grown increasingly bullshitty. Some candidates make irregular appearances at best (Mayor Lee, Alioto-Pier and Ting) while others simply won’t stay away (Chiu and Dufty). There are candidates that always sound extremely MAYORAL (Herrera) and others that are consistently irascible (Hall).

Peevish or loveable?

Tony Hall may be the object of smart-ass comments in my SFMayor tweets, but every forum he attends is much more interesting because of his participation. Hall does not appear to censor himself and his contributions do not fail to entertain. He isn’t kissing ANY ass.

Unlike Hall, other candidates are either overly cautious or they blatantly pander to the crowd in attendance.

Dufty is possibly the worst offender. He’s gay, Jewish, a single father, left handed, has a Black Agenda, he’s gassy, and is comprised of a quarter moisturizing cream. You name it – he’s got the demographic covered. If he was addressing the cyclops community, he’d draw an eye on his forehead. Shameless.

In addition to the candidates working overtime to relate to the audience of the night, there has been an excessive emphasis on civility.

After the rowdy night at the Castro, prudish worry warts were concerned that the campaign would take on a negative tone and that would be too reminiscent of the relationship between the previous administration and the Board of Supervisors. San Francisco supposedly needs leaders who get along and jerk each other off and play nicey-nicey…or at least make it look like they do.

The last thing we need is a false sense of civility about what looks like the impending 5th term of Willie Brown.

That is what will happen if Ed Lee wins the election as is predicted. Willie Brown’s crooked crony campaign paired with Rose Pak’s strong-arm Chinatown politics have possibly guaranteed Ed Lee’s ascension to mayor.

Anyone But Ed Lee

Haven’t we been pursuing this direction for long enough to know that the beneficiaries of the Willie Brown Machine should not be confused with the majority of SF citizens? If the flight of families and African-Americans from the city is a major concern (as I heard repeatedly at the forums) then why would we elect ANOTHER politician from the same class that helps pull the plug on working class families?

Willie Brown elevated his heir Gavin Newsom who then elevated his heir Ed Lee. San Francisco has been subjected to a sixteen year experiment in blow jobs for big business. Don’t we already know what to expect from four (or possibly eight) more years of the same bullshit?

Also – why is it an automatic certainty that Lee would have resounding support from Asian communities in SF? Another large segment of the San Francisco population – LGBT citizens – have yet to elect a queer mayor and it’s not because there aren’t enough gay politicians in town.

Homos seem a bit more cynical when it comes to elections. It’s not good enough to give a fag the sash to wear just to prove the political power they possess. Instead of seizing an opportunity to ram an LGBT person into elected office, the gayz are a bit more circumspect about who they support.

Hopefully identity politics are not the motivating factor behind Ed Lee’s popularity, but I don’t know how else to explain his renown considering that he has never run for office before. Ask yourself this: Would Ed Lee have run for Mayor this year if Newsom didn’t install him in the first place?

While you mull that over, let’s engage in a quick process of elimination of the fourteen candidates that do not comprise my top three choices.

NO endorsement for David Chiu, Bevan Dufty, Ed Lee or Leland Yee (too much bullshit from the first three and I can’t forgive the shark fin vote, Leland).

Michela Alioto-Pier and Phi Ting seem like nice people but I really haven’t seen them very much at the forums, so forget about them.

Tony Hall is a damn good time, but not my cup of tea. Joanna Rees has been a consistent campaigner and hard worker – and has been very supportive of my SFMayor tweeting – but I am wary of giving power and deference to business as she proposes.

Jeff Adachi has been shunned by the local Democrats because they are afraid of the Police/Fire unions that hate hate hate Adachi for his pension reform measure. That’s pathetic, quite frankly, yet the battle over the pension measures adds more mustiness to the bullshit aroma of this election. Too many civil servants make too much fucking money and will be vastly more wealthy than most people I know. At the same time, Adachi has some rich motherfuckers backing his proposition and that makes my skin crawl. Consequently he’s out.

I wouldn’t know Ascarrunz, Currier, Lawrence or Pang if I woke up next to them.

Herrera sounds like a mayor. He knows his shit. He looks the part. He’s got the tough attorney style. It’s all just TOO perfect, you know? I wouldn’t be surprised if he managed to beat Lee, but I’m feeling a bit too jaded to jump on his bandwagon.

As a protest to the rank diarrhea of San Francisco politics I’m choosing a write-in candidate for my number one position. If I had my druthers, Mat Honan would win and make every Democrat in town tear at their hole in panic. The campaign to write-in Mat began late last week and was covered by a few different outlets. At least one website has been set up for the candidate. You decide – either mayormat.com or votemat.tumbler.com

Pro-hole and anti-flair

Mat is totally cute and he confirmed with me via Twitter that he’s pro-hole. I’m not exactly sure what that means but it makes so  much more sense than most of what I have heard in the past couple months that I am willing to rank him as my #1 choice.

Since I am aware that as a write-in candidate Mr. Honan is not a likely winner, I know my second choice is going to be important. For number two I choose Green Party candidate Terry Joan Baum.

Ms. Baum has lead a determined campaign based on her observations of what is wrong with our political system locally, statewide and nationally. She may have a utopian vision for the future, but she is a passionate, intelligent woman that has voiced real concerns about the growing influence of right wing extremist ideology and she should not be discounted. I’d be proud to have her as Mayor of San Francisco.

Ms. Baum also faces a high hurdle of electability in this one-horse Democratic Party town. That’s why I choose John Avalos as my number three candidate. Of all the Democrats on the ballot this year, he is the ONE candidate that I have no reluctance to endorse.

Avalos is a progressive candidate that doesn’t have a long murky background of shady dealings and complicated alliances nor does he reek of Tea Party-lite policy schemes of giving tax breaks to corporate interests in anticipation that they will show mercy on the rest of us.

He does not rail on about the unfortunate burden of regulation upon small business. Avalos speaks of his community ties and his family and his love for San Francisco in a way that is not grandstanding or mawkish or transparent.

Sometimes I want to pull him aside and tell him to drop out of the race because he’s too good for the filthy politics and I’d hate for him to be ruined by it all. But then I’d be tempted to kiss him and I’m not sure he’d be into that so I have had to exercise restraint.

Plus my husband might get mad at me.

Postscript:

Ross Mirkarimi is my singular choice for Sheriff. The other two candidates are total cops and cops have enough power in this town.

The election of District Attorney is a bit more complicated. David Onek is my #1 pick. I’m not convinced I want to select a 2nd place candidate but I’m thinking about putting Fazio in #2 just to keep Gascon from winning. Again – Gascon is a cop and we don’t need anymore cops.

§ 14 Responses to The Campaign for San Francisco Mayor: Anyone But Ed Lee #ABEL

  • Will says:

    what does a queer mayor have over a straight mayor? why should orientation have anything to do with politics?

    • uppityfag says:

      In this example, queerness plays a role because of the high population of queers in San Francisco.

      It is one factor among many that help shape decisions on eleciton day.

      I would imagine there are more hetero people that would be weirded out about voting for a gay than there are gay people feeling conflicted about electing a straight.

      • Marvin Jordan says:

        In much the same way that afrIcan-americans would vote for a sincere white person rather than Herman Cain, no? Identity-politics before substance is shallow and immature. Full stop.

      • Will says:

        But you imply that SF’s mayor should be queer… Why would that be?

      • uppityfag says:

        I don’t believe I imply that SF should have a queer mayor. In fact I make a point of saying that for 30 years there has been a distinct possibility that SF could have had a queer mayor – many times – but the options presented in candidates that are queer were not appealing.

        Tom Ammiano was the best candidate to step forward and he was a write-in candidate with a last minute campaign. He almost won and with a more organized campaign might very well have.

        Its not a matter of “should” – and that is what Mr. Jordan says – but a matter of potential. Ammiano would have been a much more appealing Mayor than Willie Brown. His queerness would have been icing on the cake.

  • Zouaf says:

    Your solution to the Ed Lee juggernaut is to write-in a Gizmodo blogger as your first choice? Followed by the nutty Green lady, and then Avalos? PuhLEAZE.

    This is an excellent demonstration of why Progressives have lost their clout. You do a lot of complaining, but when it comes to making tough political choices (an alliance with Herrera, Adachi, Chiu or Yee) you say “ew” and hold your nose. And then lose the election.

    On the other hand maybe this entire post was a joke (?) in which case: haha.

    • uppityfag says:

      Who doesn’t make tough political choices?

      Sometimes the choices made by the candidates help determine which would compromise too much in the name of electability.

      Chiu has done his share of shape changing (see the link embedded in his name above). Let him be shallow and disloyal. Not my thing.

      Adachi has made his choices – for good or ill – and now will have to see how it pans out. His dilemma is formed more by his party than it is by me.

      Yee hasn’t been the most appealing politician for a number of reasons for a number of years. I don’t have to sign on to his history as an alternative to Ed Lee.

      Herrera is a fine candidate. I said as much in the post. He is a viable alternative. He didn’t make MY ranking but that doesn’t mean he shouldn’t be a choice for others.

      The decisions I made reflect not only my view of the candidates and the state of affairs in SF politics, but also address the strategy required to participate in ranked choice voting.

      Avalos may be my #3 – but he is likely the only candidate that will survive multiple rounds of RCV and consequently my vote will ultimately be added to his column.

      He is the only candidate among the Democrats offered that I do not have to hold my nose to support. Keep voting for what you think is the best you can get and you will continue to get the most electable corrupt politician you desire.

      Good for you!

      • Al Gore says:

        Wait… you *just* said “Herrera is a fine candidate… He is a viable alternative.” You have still not given any reason you would have to hold your nose to support him.

        I really do urge you to put him on your ballot. Herrera is the Al Gore of this election. I thought RCV would allow progressives to put their fringe candidate first and their middle-ground candidate second, but instead you want to vote for three fringe candidates. Congratulations, your ballot will be exhausted and Ed Lee will win.

        If you are serious about stopping the 5th term of Willie Brown and getting Lee out of the office he never should have had in the first place, PLEASE put Herrera on your ballot.

  • I’m all for Mat for mayor, than Avalos. I haven’t seen enough of many of the other candidates besides Lee and Yee and they’re obviously not on the list. I’m still waiting for the campaign infographics to show up.

  • cb says:

    I’ve really enjoyed your SFmayor tweets the past few months, but I have to agree with Zouaf that there is a huge disconnect between #anyonebutedlee and voting Mat #1 AND Baum #2 at the expense of Herrera, who I personally think is the best choice in the field and has the best shot to dislodge lee/brown/pak from Room 200.

    I totally understand the longshot/symbolic/send-a-message vote, but you might limit it to one of your 3 choices.

  • Teddy says:

    Picking three long-shots is an abuse of the privilege of rank-choice voting. Sure, put your wild-card favorite first, but then pick a winner from among the acceptable.

    In other words, put Dennis somewhere on your card, or you’ve not just wasted one vote: you’ve wasted three!

  • [...] that post I said “I wouldn’t know Ascarrunz, Currier, Lawrence or Pang if I woke up next to them.” That is no loner true. I sat behind Emil Lawrence at an Urban League debate last week and [...]

  • [...] do we choose Avalos? Well, the most amazingly named, UppityFag pretty much summed up any and all thoughts we had on the matter: Avalos is a progressive candidate that doesn’t have a [...]

  • milf for sex says:

    This excellent website certainly has all of the info
    I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Campaign for San Francisco Mayor: Anyone But Ed Lee #ABEL at uppityfag.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

